Update to my Postcard Campaign for the kids at Project DCR

A few days ago I came up with an idea to have people travelling to the Galapagos drop off a postcard at Post Office Bay for former street kids in a school here that my friends at Project DCR run.

The first good Samaritan sent me an email the same day.. Thanks Sonia for your generosity and fun-loving nature!

Sonia Be to me
show details Oct 6 (2 days ago)
Hola!
I’d be happy to send you a postcard and if there is one there for you I will definitely make the effort to drop it in. I especially think postcards to the kids is a great idea – good on you.
I am in the process of putting together school supplies (early phonics book which are great for learning English, a few nice picture books, excercise books for writing, etc). I like to put together a bunch of books and stationary whenever I visit a developing country and then find somewhere when I arrive that is in need (an orphanage in Bali, a school in Thailand etc). You have saved me the trouble with your great posts about Project DCR. I will also try to find some relevant resources for the teachers now that I am aware they would apreciate that too. Thanks for making me aware and I look forward to shouting you a beer or at least having you pour me one if on duty. We arrive early December so just let me know where to take things for the project.
Cheers
Sonia

 

If you are travelling to the Galapagos and want to know more about Project DCR, check out the following posts.. If your up for helping with the Postcard Campaign, send me an email at savvytravellerecuador@gmail.com for details!

http://savvyroundthhttps://savvyroundtheworld.wordpress.com/2010/10/05/going-to-the-g…buy-you-a-beer/eworld.wordpress.com/2010/09/15/project-dcr-how-you-can-help-while-exploring-ecuador/

https://savvyroundtheworld.wordpress.com/2010/09/11/project-dcr/

Leave a Reply

